6th August 2011, Clear Sky, 13°, Average wind speed 10-15 mph

I’m not quite sure what the content here will be yet. Part diary? Observations? Random musings? Maybe all this and more but hopefully interesting to somebody.

Ideally it would be daily and the pictures that accompany the dates but since I didn’t manage to start on the 1st of the month, I’ll keep it looser.

The following is copied from a translation of a Laxness novel:

NOTE ON PRONOUNCIATION

The only extra consonant in Icelandic used in this translation is ð (Ð), the so called “crossed d” or “eth”, which is pronounced like the voiced the in breathe.

Rather than explain the other letters straight away I’ll post other examples when I feel like it.

https://i0.wp.com/upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/a/aa/Latin_letter_%C3%90.svg/500px-Latin_letter_%C3%90.svg.png

Its one of the first letters I really noticed as different and appealed aesthetically and made me curious about its pronounciation.

It was one of the first things I noticed had been omitted by the publishers on the cover of the latest novel in translation of Arnaldur Indriðason. You’d think after publishing his books previously that they’d at least spell his name right on the cover!

I am trying to observe that attention to detail now when I see Icelandic names and words and trying to learn the correct pronounciations…

2 thoughts on “6th August 2011, Clear Sky, 13°, Average wind speed 10-15 mph

  1. I didn’t realise that the ‘eth’ letter (I seem to be missing the symbol on my laptop!) was in use in Iceland. I studied Anglo-Saxon and Norse myth and literature at University and so became very familiar with eth and the thorn characters. For me, they’re so evocative of seafaring pagan adventurers or Christian pilgrims on long voyagers.

    I am so pleased you’re doing this daily blog about your visit to Iceland. I’d love to find out more about the place and what you’re doing there. Are you working on something in particular? Why in Iceland? Lots of questions so please do keep the daily posts coming 🙂

  2. Wonderful to see you are keeping a journal of the experience out there, H. I look forward to reading of your adventures while I am relaxing by the pool for 2 weeks in Corfu 😉

    Write whatever comes to mind, whatever you care to share, don’t consider the audience for the content. It’s great for us to read, and even better for you to look back on at a later date. Capturing events & thoughts could well inspire work at a late date.

Leave a Reply

