Japan

Image

Yes, you read that correctly. Japan. I’m on my travels yet again.

I want to make it clear though that I am not on a ‘jolly’ or on a holiday as people would believe or might believe. I did work the whole of December and January and February at two different jobs. I was also very fortunate to have been contacted by the Galway Film Centre and invited to speak about ‘Moon’ in Ireland in February as well.

So why am I in Japan?

As readers of previous posts might remember and for new readers I spent last summer in Iceland and made new friends after spending time staying at an artist’s residency in the northwest of the country.

So I was delighted to hear from one of the artists and be asked if I would be interested in coming to Japan to show my work.

I’ve been here in Japan for just about a week now and this is the first time I’ve managed to sit down and even contemplate trying to resurrect this blog. I spent my first 2 days in Japan getting swallowed up by the madness of Tokyo.

Image

Tokyo Underground map!

I have a strange relationship towards Japan and in my mind had been looking forward to and then feeling unsure about it. Its not my first time here and unlikely to be my last time here but I do view it with some ambivalence which is mainly borne out of uncertainty over my position as a British Born Japanese person who’s language skills are questionable. In the past in certain situations I would get defensive and either speak as if I’d come from the Michael Caine school of English or the Hugh Grant one depending on the situation. Drinking alcohol seems to improve my willingness to try to speak Japanese probably due to losing inhibitions. Although arguably if I step outside of myself I’m pretty ambivalent about most places including England.

That said I’m starting to feel better about being here despite having the super deluxe ultimate camouflage disguise of looking Japanese yet not fully comprehending what is being said or being able to read various information.

In two days in Tokyo I managed to see one of my friends who has living in Tokyo and also to see my grandparents who have transplanted themselves back to Japan since October from England. It was good to see my grandparents looking better and more comfortable with themselves and where they were.

From Tokyo I took the Shinkansen/Bullet Train to Kyoto.

More detailed posts and pictures to hopefully come but for a first this will have to suffice. Also I can’t remember how to use this thing yet! ūüėČ

3 thoughts on “Japan

  1. That’s awesome that you’re traveling selling art/doing what you love.
    I would love to be traveling doing what I love…I will make it happen!

  2. Hope you’ll enjoy it there. Head down to Kansai too if you like good food and culture. The people tend to be more chatty and curious than in Tokyo too.

  3. Very envious – I’m longing to go to Japan. Perhaps I need to write a few novels based there (a la David Mitchell) to encourage them to invite me over. Congrats on your increasing international profile. You deserve it.

Leave a Reply

