Ramen, Friday July 3rd, Tokyo, Japan

19299650648_59b20ebe7a_o

That evening I had my first bowl of Ramen in Japan in a restaurant called Manrikiya in Azabu-Juban, the interior along with its owner seemed slightly overdone almost theatrical in how hard it was trying to be macho. I can almost imagine the owner going to work and stepping into character then changing into street clothes at going home time and being a very quiet person. That’s by the by though, the food, let’s talk about ramen.

What is ramen? it is essentially a soup based dish served with Chinese style wheat noodles, there are regional variations of what the soup base is made from as well as toppings and noodle type from thin to thick to straight to crinkly. It is then topped with various toppings as per the restaurant menu. Generally most restaurants will offer a Chashu (Sliced Pork) with spring onions, nori, menma (bamboo shoot) and sometimes a hard boiled egg as the entry level dish, you can then ask for extra beansprouts, spring onion and so on. It is also one the dishes that you can slurp as you eat.

The white and pink slice you can see in my photo of my dinner is a thin slice of fishcake, there was also some fried garli and black pepper in there already, all there to give me some ‘power’! 😉

The soup base I had was a shoyu (soy sauce) one but it isn’t always and you can find shops specializing in one type of soup like shio (salt) or miso (fermenting soy beans) as well as  tonkotsu (pork bone).

A reader from London could be forgiven for believing that ramen is only served with tonkotsu given the propensity of restaurants springing up serving it only that way in the capital. While I understand rents are costly in London and they are cooking a food that requires to an extent certain specialty ingredients, I am still somewhat put off by the cost of ramen  in London with it being almost double that of Japan but I digress.

18866628903_4197bfec68_o

Accompanying my ramen, I ordered some gyoza, which is a fried dumpling of a very thin pastry filled more often than not with minced meat, chives, spring onions, garlic and sometimes cabbage or other chopped vegetables. It is eaten with soy sauce mixed with vinegar and chilli oil. I haven’t as yet seen these long gyoza in London yet but it’s probably only a matter of time.

The salad in the background was a mizuna leaf salad which actually now in retrospect adds to my feeling that the restaurant and it’s interior is all put on to be how a macho restaurant should be, in reality salad probably wouldn’t be available in a macho restaurant. 😉 (I wish they’d sell salad bags of mizuna leaves in the UK, you occasionally find the odd leaf in a mixed bag of leaves, remember you read it here first when it becomes trendy!)

As to the ramen, I did enjoy it and wondered as to why there isn’t more variation of ramen in London.

A quick note on food, I didn’t always take pictures of my food sometimes because I honestly forgot to because I was hungry. There are no breakfast pictures which was either a buffet style breakfast of Japanese items (Rice, miso soup, fish) or Western style and in some places where there was no breakfast option just a bread roll from a bakery or convenience store.

2 thoughts on “Ramen, Friday July 3rd, Tokyo, Japan

  1. Oh I miss eating this! Japanese foods here in UAE is expensive and if there is cheap inside the foodcourt at the mall it is not the same as it is more “commercialize” …

Leave a Reply

